Forword by the Director General   
 
Dear visitors,

Welcome to the website of the Department of Antiquities of Jordan (DoA). On our website you can find useful information about the rich and diverse cultural heritage of Jordan. You can also be informed on the mission and responsibilities of the Department of Antiquities, the legislative framework that governs the cultural heritage of Jordan, excavation and conservation projects that are taking place as well cultural heritage management projects. The Department of Antiquities' website will be constantly updated with new information and will include announcements concerning the activities of DoA.
The Department of Antiquities of Jordan (DoA) is the official institutional authority mandated by law with the responsibilities of studying, interpreting, conserving, developing, monitoring and protecting Jordan's cultural heritage legacy including archaeological sites, monuments, and traditional architecture. DoA is also responsible for the establishment of and running of public archaeological museums.

Jordan is located at the crossroads of ancient and modern Middle Eastern civilizations. The kingdom lies in the heart of one of the most historically important and intellectually intriguing regions on earth. Jordan’s diverse legacy of antiquities and archeological sites attests to its rich history as a crossroads of civilizations, many of which left their unique mark behind. Collected over thousands of years, this legacy represents the origin and evolution of several religions, cultures, economies and societies. It is Jordan’s heritage, which lends the country the unique characteristic of an open air museum, and offers the potential for deeper multicultural and religious understanding through the study of this heritage.

Jordan’s heritage is one of its strongest tourism assets, and the relics left behind as a result of this vibrant past are irreplaceable treasures. Tourism in Jordan, led by heritage tourism, is the largest single contributor to the productive economy. Yet much potential exists to increase this contribution by improving the management and utilization of Jordan’s cultural and heritage assets, while at the same time protecting them and ensuring their sustainability.

The archaeological heritage of Jordan has suffered considerably from illicit excavations and illegal trade of antiquities. Unfortunately, these illegal activities have recently been systematic and have intensified to reach a frightening scale. These activities deprived Jordan of some of its most outstanding archaeological treasures. It is my hope that the website site and other educational activities of the Department will help in alleviating this huge challenge by effectively serving to enhance the public awareness, appreciation and understanding of the value and significance of cultural heritage among ordinary people.  

In order to effectively fulfill its mandate, the Department of Antiquities has recently embarked on an ambitious reform and capacity building program. The reform program includes new strategic directions that outline how DoA carries out its mandate in the documentation, interpretation, conservation, presentation and management of Jordan’s cultural heritage. This is reflected in the restructuring of the Department's organizational structure to establish new directorates that are charged with these tasks in order to meet the new challenges. Capacity building programs to substantially improve and update the department's facilities and to develop and upgrade its human resources will reinforce these efforts and ensure the department achieves the planned results.

Success of the reform and capacity building program requires wide support from the Government of Jordan, the private sector, international partners and local communities. The road ahead is a challenging one, but one that must be taken to keep safe Jordan’s heritage treasures for the enjoyment and education of future generations, and to support Jordan’s development goals by contributing to the national economy through tourism.

كلمة المدير العام   

اهلا بكم الى الموقع الإكتروني لدائرة الآثار العامة. تجدون على هذا الموقع معلومات هامة حول تراث الأردن الحضاري الغني والمتنوع. كما تجدون ايضا معلومات حول مهام ومسئوليات دائرة الأثار العامة والمشاريع التي تقوم بها الدائرة وبالتعاون مع مؤسسات وجامعات محلية وعالمية في مجال الحفريات الأثرية وصيانة وترميم المواقع الأثرية وتطوير وادارة هذه المواقع. كما يقدم الموقع القوانين الخاصة بالآثار والتراث العمراني والأنظمة والتعليمات التي تنظم كافة أوجه التعامل مع تراث الأردن الحضاري. سوف تعمل الدائرة على تحديث المعلومات المنشورة على هذا الموقع مما يتيح للجميع من مختصين وباحثين ومهتمين سهولة الوصول الى المعلومة والتواصل مع الدائرة. 

دائرة الآثار العامة هي الجهة الرسمية التي يناط بها وفق القانون مسئوليات اكتشاف وتسجيل ودراسة وتفسير وصيانة وحفظ وتطوير وادارة كافة المواقع الأثرية في المملكة اضافة الى انشاء وادارة المتاحف الأثرية ومتاحف التراث الشعبي. وقد تم مؤخرا نقل مسئولية صيانة وحماية وتأهيل التراث العمراني عبر ترتيب خاص بين الدائرة ووزارة السياحة والأثار.

يتمتع الأردن بموقع استراتيجي توسط حضارات الشرق الأدنى القديمة ويقع في اغنى منطقة حضارية في العالم. يمثل تراث الأردن الحضاري الغني والمتنوع من مواقع اثرية هامة وقلاع وحصون ومدن اثرية ذات اسوار ومعالم عظيمة وانظمة مياه محكمة شواهد على العمق الحضاري للاردن وعلى الدور الهام الذي لعبه في تشكيل وتطور الحضارة الإنسانية . وبحق فأن وصف الأردن بالمتحف المفتوح يعكس ما يتمتع به الأردن من كثافة في المواقع والمعالم والصروح الأثرية المنشرة في كافة ارجاء المملكة والتي تمثل نشأة وتطور الأديان السماوية وتلاقي حضارات الشرق والغرب. 

يمثل التراث الحضاري اهم عامل من عوامل الجذب السياحي التي يتمتع بها الأردن. ويعتبر قطاع السياحة الذي تقوده السياحة الثقافية احد اهم مكونات الإقتصاد الوطني وموردا اساسيا للعملة الصعبة الداعمة للاقتصاد. ويمكن لحصة قطاع السياحة ان تتحسن بشكل كبير اذا ما احسن استغلال تراث الأردن الحضاري الفريد بشكل افضل عبر وضع خطط ادارة شمولية للمواقع الأثرية والسياحية بما يحقق التوازن بين استغلال هذه المواقع من جهة والحفاظ عليها من جهة اخرى و بما يضمن استدامة هذه المواقع.


لقد تعرض تراث الأردن الحضاري عبر السنين لكثير من اعمال الدمار والتخريب بفعل الحفريات الأثرية غير الشرعية والأتجار غير المشروع في الأثار. وللاسف الشديد فقد شهدت السنوات الأخيرة ارتفاعا غير مسبوق في وتيرة عمليات الحفر والإتجار غير المشروع مما نتج عنة تدميرا واسعا للعديد من المواقع الأثرية وضياعا لكنوز اثرية بالغة الأهمية والحساسية. اتمنى ان يمثل هذا الموقع الألكتروني وما يحويه من معلومات ومواد تعليمية حول اهمية وقيمة التراث الحضاري وارتباطه المباشر بالهوية الوطنية فرصة لكل الناس لكي يعرفوا اكثر عن تراثهم الحضاري ولكي يدركوا اهمية الحفاظ على هذا التراث    
 
لغايات النهوض بالأعباء والمسؤوليات الموكلة اليها بدأت دائرة الأثار العامة مؤخرا ببرنامج طموح لأعادة الهيكله وبناء القدرات الذاتية. وقد شملت عملية اعادة الهيكلة وضع هيكل تنظيمي للدائرة شمل تطوير بعض المديريات الفنية والأدارية وانشاء مديريات فنية جديدية مثل مديرية ادارة المواقع الأثرية ومديرية التراث العمراني وذلك للتصدي للاعباء والمسئوليات المتعلقة بتفسير وصيانة وترميم وادارة مواقع التراث الحضاري وتطوير المتاحف الأثرية بتحسين مستوى العرض المتحفي وادخال البرامج التعليمية بما يضمن المتعة والفائدة. ويشمل برنامج تطوير القدرات الذاتية بناء وتطوير موارد الدائرة المادية والبشرية حيث يتم انشاء مختبرات مزودة بأحدث الأجهزة والمعدات الفنية في مجال اكتشاف وتوثيق و فحص و صيانة وترميم الأثار اضافة الى تدريب كوادر الدائرة وتزويدها بمختصين في مجالات الأثار المختلفة من خريجي الجامعات. تتطلع الدائرة الى التعاون مع شركائها من مؤسسات وجامعات محلية ودولية وجهات دولية مانحة لتحقيق هذا البرنامج الطموح.   إضافة الى انشاء مديريات جديدة وتطوير في التقسيم الإداري للمديريات 
ان نجاح هذا البرنامج الطوح وتحقيق الأهداف المتوخاة يحتاج الى دعم ومؤازرة الدائرة من كل الجهات المعنية وعلى رأسها الحكومة والقطاع الخاص والمجتمع المحلي والمؤسسات العلمية المحلية والدولية. نحن ندرك ان عملية البناء والنهوض بالأعباء والمسئوليات الجسيمة الملقاة على عاتق الدائرة هو طريق طويل وصعب و لكن لا مناص من تنفيذ هذا البرنامج للحفاظ على كنوز الأردن الحضارية واستثمارها لمنفعة المجتمع مع الحفاظ عليها للاجيال القادمة.
 
ارجو ان تحقق زيارتكم لموقعنا المتعة والفائدة.